Astrology: The Major Aspects

Recently, a friend of mine asked what aspects mean in astrology. This inspired me to create a blog post that discusses what each major aspect means. Aspects are the distance between the planets within your chart; they explain how your planets are reacting to each other in your inner galactic party.


(Same sign/ 0 apart)

Keyword: Blending

Conjunction in your chart are when two planets are journeying together. Because they are so close, their energies blend. It causes a high dosage of whatever energy the planets represent, and magnifies whatever house and sign they are placed within.


(6 signs apart / 180 apart)

Keywords: Balance, Polarity

When two planets are opposing each other in your chart, it’s the areas of life where more balance is needed. Opposing planets can be like two people who aren’t agreeing. With compromising and bringing balance to both sides, an amazing connection is created.

Opposing Signs:

Aries – Libra

Taurus – Scorpio

Gemini – Sagittarius

Cancer – Capricorn

Leo – Aquarius

Virgo – Pisces


(4 signs apart / 120 apart / Same element)

Keywords: Luck, Harmony, Easy

Trines are amazing to have within your chart. A trine represents energy running smoothly between the planets. Trines bring luck and opportunity without much effort needed. (Sometimes this little to no effort may cause laziness!)

Trine Signs:

Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces


(Three signs apart / 90 apart / Shares same quality *cardinal, mutable, fixed*)

Keywords: Conflict/Tension

An easy way to remember the square aspect is by connecting the term “Square up.” Squares represents conflict between two planets. If you have a square within your chart, that is the area where there is tension and issues. It takes more effort to bring flow, and when effort is done over time, it manifests as rewards in your path.

Aries – Cancer, Capricorn

Taurus- Leo, Aquarius

Gemini- Virgo, Pisces

Cancer – Libra, Aries

Leo – Scorpio, Taurus

Virgo – Sagittarius, Gemini

Libra – Capricorn, Cancer

Scorpio – Aquarius, Leo

Sagittarius – Pisces, Virgo

Capricorn – Aries, Libra

Aquarius – Taurus, Scorpio

Pisces – Gemini, Sagittarius


(2 signs apart /60 apart)

Keywords: Flow, Cooperation

Sextiles are like planets making love within your chart. The planets are flowing together are compatible and are either both in Earth/Water or Fire/Air. They may create new opportunities and possibilities with this bond. (Sextiles are not as strong as Trines, and in your chart represents areas that have the least amount of stress)

Sextile Signs:

Aries: Gemini, Aquarius

Taurus: Cancer, Pisces

Gemini: Leo, Aries

Cancer: Virgo, Taurus

Leo: Libra, Gemini

Virgo: Scorpio, Cancer

Libra: Sagittarius, Leo

Scorpio: Capricorn, Virgo

Sagittarius: Aquarius, Libra

Capricorn: Pisces, Scorpio

Aquarius: Aries, Sagittarius

Pisces: Taurus, Capricorn

In my next blog post, I will discuss the elements in astrology! Stay tuned 🙂

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: